Access Management is Changing on Billions of Android Devices

Google will soon be introducing a security feature to the entire Android ecosystem that will automatically revoke permissions for applications that have not been used for a long time.

Google’s Android developer blog has heralded a significant change in the way personal information is handled: from the first quarter of 2022, any app that users haven’t launched in a while would automatically lose access permissions to sensitive skills such as device sensors, SMS messages or contact lists. The only exceptions to this will be apps managed at the enterprise level and policies defined separately there.

Updates are scheduled to begin gradually in December this year with an “auto-reset” security feature that would automatically reset contributions to location data, use of cameras and microphones, and a range of other types of access under the right conditions. By the way, “auto-reset” has already been released with Android 11, but it will only reach all of the devices running releases between versions 6 and 10 early next year.

According to the information, the feature will become the default for applications running on Android 11 (API level 30), during which users will have to configure it manually. The bottom line, however, would be to give users more control over their privacy settings in order to control the dozens of applications installed on their phones in the allocation of runtime and dangerous permissions.

It will work with hibernation

The thing will look like in practice that by the second quarter of 2022, every app that has not been used for a few months will automatically lose all such privileges – that is, its automated equivalent should be thought of as if the user set the app to “disabled” in the appropriate setting. Level of access. However, developers will have the opportunity to alert device owners when it comes to applications that are worth running in the background, such as programs for family security monitoring, synchronization, or controlling and connecting smart home devices.

As a Google blog post points out, there are so many applications installed on their devices today that it becomes impossible to keep track of important permissions. This is obviously especially true if someone has almost forgotten about the apps they haven’t used in a long time. This includes the fact that “permissions, auto-reset” is also compatible with the hibernation feature of Android 12 (API level 31), which essentially not only disables inactive applications, but also uses compression in their case to free up storage space and even you can delete their components that can be re-downloaded to them as needed.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *